actiPLANS helps you automate processing of leave requests: users submit their leave requests through their personal schedule interface, and managers assigned to the users as leave approvers approve or reject these requests.
Leave Request Parameters
Leave request describes what type of leave user is going to have and how much time this leave will take.
Leaves can be requested for both future and past dates. If actiPLANS is integrated with actiTIME, past leaves are requested, modified and deleted in actiTIME. If the actiPLANS account is independent, leaves for the past dates are tracked directly in actiPLANS.
Leave type selected for the request defines if and how the requested leave time should affect user's PTO or Sick Days balance, and whether the leave request requires approval. It also determines which color & icon are displayed for this request in the charts.
It is possible to request only one type of leave for each day. Leave requests of one user cannot overlap.
When specifying how much time the leave will take, user can define leave duration for the first day of the leave, for the last day of the leave, and for all other intermediate days altogether.
In particular, this means that user can create a request where the first and last days of the leave will be short working hours, and take the full-time leave for in-between days.
Actual requested leave time is always calculated taking into account user's work schedule – the system counts only those leave hours that overlap with expected working hours configured for the employee.
For example, this means that the system will automatically subtract all weekends from a leave request lasting 3 weeks, although it will be shown as one continuous bar in all charts.
actiPLANS allows the employees to inform colleagues when they are coming late or leaving early. This can be done from the mobile application. This info is displayed in the My Schedule interface as a note in a cell.
Leave request may have the following status:
Waiting for Approval – new leave request submitted by the user requires manager's approval.
Requests waiting for approval are shown in charts as bars with hatched filling.
A new leave request submitted by a user will have Waiting for Approval' status when the approval is required both in the user settings and in the parameters of the leave type selected for the request.
Approved – leave request has been approved either by a leave time manager or automatically by the system.
Approved requests are shown in charts as bars with solid filling.
New leave request submitted by a user will be approved automatically when either auto-approval option is selected in the user settings, or approval is not required in the parameters of the leave type selected for the request.
Rejected – leave request has been rejected by a leave time manager.
Rejected leave requests are shown only in the interfaces displaying requests in the tabular form. You will not see rejected requests in the leave time charts.
Managers who can approve & reject leave requests (leave time managers) are selected from the list of users with ‘Manage Leave Time Requests’ permission (configured in the User List | Account Settings interface):
When the option ‘Allow Leave Request Managers to edit and manage leave requests of those users who are configured for automatic approval’ is not selected in the general system settings, you can select all users approved by a specific leave time manager ...
... or assign each user one or several ‘approvers’ from the list of leave time managers:
When the option ‘Allow Leave Request Managers to edit and manage leave requests of those users who are configured for automatic approval’ is selected in the general system settings, any leave time manager can process requests submitted by any regular user.
Note that in this case all leave requests submitted by leave time managers themselves will be approved automatically.
If all leave requests submitted by a user do not require approval, you can choose option 'Automatically Approved' instead of assigning specific approvers to this user.
Processing of leave requests may be accompanied by email notifications, when the corresponding notifications are turned on in the system settings (see section Email Notifications).
Past Leave Management
If an employee has taken a leave but has ended up not using it, the leave can be deleted or edited. Past leaves can also be submitted; it is convenient for sick leaves, as they are usually not planned ahead. If actiPLANS is integrated with actiTIME, past leaves are modified in actiTIME. For independent accounts, leaves for past dates are edited directly in actiPLANS.
For users whose leave requests don’t require approval, past leave modifications are automatically accepted. For users who have leave approvers, the approval procedure is applied to their past leaves too.
For past leave modifications that don’t affect any balance, no approval is required. They are marked with a solid background in My Schedule interface. The user can delete this leave.
These leave requests are accepted automatically with an email notification.
If the past leave modification affects current PTO or Sick Days balance, it requires manager’s approval. Requested leaves are marked with a hatched background in My Schedule interface; leaves waiting for deletion are marked with a red border. The user cannot delete it; the modification request can only be cancelled.
The user receives a notification when the past leave modification is approved or rejected.
Actions Available to System Users
Regular users who do not have Manage Leave Time Requests permission can process own requests only:
- Submit new leave requests
- Submit absence notes from the mobile app
- Edit requests waiting for approval
- Edit automatically approved requests
- Delete requests
- Review their own history of taken leaves and balance changes
Please note that no leave requests can be submitted for the dates before the hire date.
Leave time managers can process requests of the assigned users*:
- Approve & reject leave requests waiting for approval
- Rollback manual approval and manual rejection of leave requests
- Reject approved requests (including requests approved automatically)
- Edit & delete requests with any status
- Create new leave requests for the assigned users (these requests are automatically approved)
- Review their own and colleagues’ history of taken leaves and balance changes
* When the option 'Allow Leave Request Managers to edit and manage leave requests of those users who are configured for automatic approval' is selected in the general system settings, any leave time manager can process requests submitted by any regular user.
The manager can enter optional comments when rejecting requests. The only operation that the manager can do with a started approved request is delete it.
Leave Requests and User's PTO & Sick Days Balance
Whether leave request will influence user's PTO & Sick Days balance or not depends on the leave type selected for this request:
When the selected leave type is configured as influencing PTO & Sick Days, the requested leave time will be subtracted from user's PTO or Sick Days balance according to the rules described in the Calculation of Paid Time Off and Sick Days Balance section.
In addition, information shown for these requests in the system interfaces will include user's PTO balance before and after the request to simplify the procedure of processing requests.
If a past leave is submitted, edited or deleted, the balance affected by this leave is recalculated accordingly after the leave is approved.
If user’s hire date is changed, all past leaves behind the hire date are deleted; balances are adjusted accordingly. The user receives an email notification on the changed hire date, updated balances, and deleted past leaves.
Leave balance changes can be reviewed in the Balance History by User tab of the Reports interface. Regular users can see there only their own balance histories; managers also have access to other users’ balance change histories.
Leave Time History
actiPLANS records history of approved leave time. The history is updated when user's past leaves are deleted or modified.
When actiPLANS is integrated with actiTIME, leave time history shows actual leave time recorded in actiTIME. If a past leave is edited in actiTIME, it is also updated in the Leave Time History in actiPLANS as well.
When actiPLANS is not integrated with actiTIME, past leaves are changed and deleted in the Schedule and Leave Management interfaces. Leave time history is updated according to the modifications made in these interfaces.
Regular users can see their leave time history only; managers also have access to the leave time history of their assigned users. Both is available in the Past Leaves Calendar by User tab of the Reports interface.